I have been wanting to blog for a while now.  I have so many thoughts running through my brain, it would be nice to get them down so I don’t have to think them as much.  I was laid off again (second time in 3 years, third time I have been jobless) and decided that enough was enough.  My passion lies in truth and the truth is I have no passion for the career that I chose.  I will most likely get another job in the same industry because it is easy and it pays well and I like the people but still, my passion lies in finding truth in our crazy political and economic system.  This past election was a ton of sound and fury signifying nothing.  Our system is the best in the world, if we have an informed electorate.  I am not talking left wing and right wing talking points, I am talking about finding out exactly what our government spends our tax dollars on and deciding, is this the kind of country we want?  We also need to stop focusing on what devides us and start celebrating and embracing what binds us in the struggle that is life.  That is the only way to defeat the current toxic political climate that exists in America.  I am going to start this thing off by focusing on where our military spends our money.  I am doing this for two reasons:  1) It is the department of our government that spends the most of our tax dollars and 2) There aren’t very many places that report that information.  Accountability in government is the great equalizer and no country can call itself a true demoracy without full accountability.  We now spend more than every other country in the world COMBINED on our military.  The American tax payer also supplies several countries with their defense, while their government uses the excess capital generated by not having an army to create jobs for their people and invest in their countries infastructure and border security.  All at the expense of our own border security and infastructure.  Our military is just that OUR MILITARY.  It should be used to secure our borders and defend our land.  We are not the world cop and the burden of protecting the world from evil should not be our nations sole responsibility.  I will be adding articles in the next few days and really want to encourage rational discussion on this topic.  I am excited about this endevor and hope anyone that reads this blog keeps an open mind and I would like to end my first post with a quote from Dwight D Eisenhower commander of our troops in World War 2 and former President:  

 “Every gun that is made, every warship launched, every rocket fired, signifies
in the final sense a theft from those who hunger and are not fed, those who are
cold and are not clothed.”

