When I heard the tragic news that “Diamond” Joe Morgan didn’t have his contract renewed at ESPN, I had two reactions.  The first was to make toast.  The second was to sit down and think about how bad this guy was at a job he had for 21 years.  Imagine that?  Think about the job you were worst at in your life, then imagine doing it for 21 years.  That takes some stones, especially since it was on the only Sunday Night Baseball game in America.  Everyone knew it.  It’s just like a dude with a comb over, you’re not fooling anyone.  Over the years Joe has had some great insight into the inner workings of America’s Past Time.  Let’s look back at some of his greatest hits, enjoy!

“Much like the Rockies last year, this team heads into this World Series playing as well as it has ever played.”

This was from 08 in reference to the Phillies.  I guess he didn’t see what happened to the Rockies in the 07 World Series…

“The Yankees, like everyone, has weaknesses.”

Nailed it! 

“A good base stealer should make the whole infield jumpy. Whether you steal or not, you’re changing the rhythm of the game. If the pitcher is concerned about you, he isn’t concentrating enough on the batter.”

Classic Joe!  Almost an entire paragraph of nothing.  His mustache was working overtime that night…

“I don’t believe in the Prophecy. I haven’t read it, and I won’t, because it’s wrong. I know. I’m in the Hall of Fame.”

This is an example of Deep Joe.  The man did more then just play baseball and comment on the “Up-ness” and “In-ness” of pitches, he also took a stand.  F U Nostradamus I am in the G.D. hall of fame!

“I loved the Astrodome, … It was unique. It was a forerunner for a lot of things you see.”

Like…?

“That suicide squeeze reminds me of the time that Mickey Mantle, Muhammad Ali, Secretariat and I had to buy an anniversary gift for President Nixon…”

No these are not ramblings overheard in an insane asylum or comment written in urine on the wall of a truck stop bathroom, this is 100% Joe Infused Balloon Juice! 

“We have a few holes to fill, but with a little time together, we’ll be fine.”

Joe stepping into the That’s What She Said fray.  Well done sir.

