So I have been doing Wii Fit Plus for three months.  It has been a shame filled 90 days to be sure.  I have to admit that I have been slacking with the Wii Fit.  I have been taking the dogs on long walks and haven’t had the energy to do 50 minute Wii Fit workouts when I get home.  The Wii Fit evil pixie has not been pleased with this development.

“So too busy to work out yesterday Steve?” says the evil pixie after I miss one single day.  The pixie then asks me where another member of my Wii Fit Plus family has been and if they are ok.  I had that person log in just to see what would happen.  The results were pretty predictable.

“Well if it isn’t QK.”  The pixie board says dripping with digital sarcasm.  “It has been 71 days since you last logged in, I almost forgot your name.”  So the people who created this game just wanted to shame people.  Even people who use the game on a regular basis get yelled at for not having enough variety in their workouts.  It is like working out with Lucille Bluth as your personal trainer.  I fear the game is going to accuse me of being too much of a big shot to comb its hair the next time I turn it on.

Pretending to forget someone's name is only part of the shame based Wii Fit Plus exercise program.

 The game also pretended to forget someone else’s name that hadn’t been active for a month.  So on top of being a nag, it has the mentality of a three-year old as well.  If I stay off for a month, I am putting myself at risk of not being invited to the Wii Fit’s birthday party.  If that isn’t workout motivation, I don’t know what is.

So at the three-month mark I have only lost about 15 pounds.  That is ok I suppose since I am old but still, I want to kick this into high gear.  Maybe I need a Wii Fit app that is implanted in your brain and it tells you not to eat certain things.  Philip K Dick meets Karen Carpenter…THE APP!  You’re welcome Steve Jobs!

If you can get past all the weird interactions with the pixie board, Wii Fit is actually a really good game.  It teaches you some great Yoga positions and gets you motivated to exercise.  I highly recommend this game to anyone looking for a way to get into shape that doesn’t involve monthly fees and crowded gyms.  Just try to be nice to the game or else it will haunt your dreams forever.  If that isn’t a ringing endorsement, I don’t know what is!

